Review: Fairest of All by Serena Valentino

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Genre: Fantasy, Fairy Tale, Retellings

Pages: 268

Summary: Why exactly is the wicked Queen so nasty, particularly to Snow White? Perhaps it has something to do with the creepy-looking man in the magic mirror who’s not just some random spooky visage…

Ahh, retellings! Such an interesting view on stories that most of us if not all, know by heart now. This is a take on the evil queen character from Snow White though she is not mentioned by this name nor any name other than the Queen actually now that I’m thinking about it. Did she have a name?! It’s been so long since I watched Snow White that I can’t remember.

I think the number one thing I liked most about this book is that we get to see a vulnerable side to this character that we do not otherwise get in the classic stories involving her. I like watching the delicate descent into madness, and then it just becoming a full blown wicked witch deal.

This book is only 268 pages, but I will be honest with you, it took me longer than it should have to finish this. I don’t know if it was the story or I’m just in a general reading lump, but yeah, this should have been done in a day, two at most for me. I was not totally enraptured with the story, but I believe for the correct audience or younger folk this will be great for them. This isn’t my usual type of book so that may have also played a part in it.

The author did a great job with building the characters and really made you feel for the Queen. Now, am I saying what she did to Snow is acceptable? Heck no, but I can understand the heartache and wallowing in your own sorrows and letting that eat away at you. It does make you look at this character in a new light though for sure. This story feels like it channels Regina’s character from Once Upon A Time(who obviously plays the Evil Queen!), and while reading this I couldn’t help but picture her as the Queen.

Overall, I would most likely read the next retelling in the series, which I believe is about Beast/Prince Adam from Beauty and the Beast. That is my favorite Disney movie so I’m a little more hype about it.

Well, that’s it for this episode, I’ll catch you next time! As always, I will follow up this review with a make-up look inspired by this book so be sure to keep an eye on my Instagram tomorrow!

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

Luke Atkins

Film, Music, and Television Critic

Ana Bookshelves blog

Hi! My name is Ana. I’m a pharmacist & part time blogger! Book addict!

Pretty Purple Polka Dots

"If you have the words, there's always a chance that you'll find the way"

s o l s t e r e

when the sun stands still ☼

Living Through Books

“Living Through Books"

Books At The Wyrmberg

Books, books, books...

Life With All The Books

Book Reviews, Book Chat - basically anything books !

Counting Points & Reading Books

Health & Fitness, Book Reviews, Amateur Photography, Doxies, etc.

Parchment and Pens

Book Reviews

Deekay Daily Reads

heart for books and reading

Sam's Little Corner

A Little Bit of Everything

Midnight Musings

Life from a Different Perspective

Scripturient for Life !

Eat.Read.Sleep.Repeat.

Desabelle

I am a book lover, coffee drinker, and writer...

Abi of Pellinor

A Book Dragon in their natural habitat