Review: The Kiss Thief by L.J. Shen

Rating: 2 out of 5.

Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Adult

Pages: 322

Summary: They say your first kiss should be earned.

Mine was stolen by a devil in a masquerade mask under the black Chicago sky. They say the vows you take on your wedding day are sacred. Mine were broken before we left church. They say your heart only beats for one man. Mine split and bled for two rivals who fought for it until the bitter end. I was promised to Angelo Bandini, the heir to one of the most powerful families in the Chicago Outfit. Then taken by Senator Wolfe Keaton, who held my father’s sins over his head to force me into marriage. They say that all great love stories have a happy ending.

I, Francesca Rossi, found myself erasing and rewriting mine until the very last chapter.

One kiss.
Two men.
Three lives.
Entwined together.

And somewhere between these two men, I had to find my forever.

Happy New Year to you all! What a wild ride 2020 was, and 2021 is already shaping up to be. I have returned with another review for your eyes to feast upon! I’ve been in a reading slump for the last month or so, and the original novel I was reading I ended up putting it on my DNF shelf because reading is not fun when you force yourself to read a story you are really, really not feeling.

I found The Kiss Thief through randomly scrolling in my Kindle Unlimited recommendations and figured, why not give it a shot. Sounds like something I would be interested in, let’s gooooo!

I was wrong. Mistakes were made. I was semi invested in the story until Wolfe’s, the lead male, dialogue turned…gosh, this is going to make me sound like a prude, and I swear I am not, but his dialogue was just crass and made me cringe. I get it, he’s the ‘bad guy’, but you don’t need to drill it in my head with the absolute shit spewing out of his mouth.

As for Francesca, I didn’t care for her. This whole like Stockholm syndrome with being with an abusive partner and then falling madly in love…cue the raspberry sound! I will never understand why people flock to those types of stories and think they are romantic(I’m looking at you Twilight!). They are not, my friends. Find a novel partner who really loves you and supports you, hunnies!

Also the mafia family bit was off to me…I don’t know, it didn’t sit right, but I guess she was going for that whole star-crossed lovers/Montague and Capulet theme so it works for that. This entire story could have been the same without Francesca having mafia ties. This is just me being nit picky now, feel free to ignore me, haha.

I’ll tell you what though, the writing, overall, was not terrible. This is where the book gains it’s two stars. If she could have lead with better dialogue on Wolfe and character development I would have rated it a bit higher. I am biased and love me a good strong female lead though so if this sounds like a book you would otherwise be interested in, then by all means, pick it up!

That’s all for now! I’ll have my inspired look up on the ol’ Instagram either later today or tomorrow! So keep your eyes out for that as well if you are interested in make up as well as books! I’ll leave a link below! Until the next time, friends! Be well, and stay safe.

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

Luke Atkins

Film, Music, and Television Critic

Ana Bookshelves blog

Hi! My name is Ana. I’m a pharmacist & part time blogger! Book addict!

Pretty Purple Polka Dots

"If you have the words, there's always a chance that you'll find the way"

s o l s t e r e

when the sun stands still ☼

Living Through Books

“Living Through Books"

Books At The Wyrmberg

Books, books, books...

Life With All The Books

Book Reviews, Book Chat - basically anything books !

Counting Points & Reading Books

Health & Fitness, Book Reviews, Amateur Photography, Doxies, etc.

Parchment and Pens

Book Reviews

Deekay Daily Reads

heart for books and reading

Sam's Little Corner

A Little Bit of Everything

Midnight Musings

Life from a Different Perspective

Scripturient for Life !

Eat.Read.Sleep.Repeat.

Desabelle

I am a book lover, coffee drinker, and writer...

Abi of Pellinor

A Book Dragon in their natural habitat