Review: The Stranger by Harlan Coben

Standard

Title: The Stranger

Author: Harlan Coben

Pages: 386

Genre: Thriller, Mystery

Rating: 3/5 Stars

Summary: The Stranger appears out of nowhere, perhaps in a bar, or a parking lot, or at the grocery store. His identity is unknown. His motives are unclear. His information is undeniable. Then he whispers a few words in your ear and disappears, leaving you picking up the pieces of your shattered world.

Adam Price has a lot to lose: a comfortable marriage to a beautiful woman, two wonderful sons, and all the trappings of the American Dream: a big house, a good job, a seemingly perfect life.

Then he runs into the Stranger. When he learns a devastating secret about his wife, Corinne, he confronts her, and the mirage of perfection disappears as if it never existed at all. Soon Adam finds himself tangled in something far darker than even Corinne’s deception, and realizes that if he doesn’t make exactly the right moves, the conspiracy he’s stumbled into will not only ruin lives—it will end them.

I’m a huge Fantasy nerd when it comes to reading, but lately I have been on a Thriller kick. I found The Stranger while browsing my local library via Overdrive and figured what the heck. I am not terribly disappointed that I read it, but I left this book, not really caring for any of the characters, which I so hate. The plot was interesting but I kind of knew where it was heading as I was reading. It was a great concept that could have played out a lot better, but eh. The beginning definitely sucked me in, it was the follow through that I thought was a bit weak.

Who doesn’t have secrets, and what would you be willing to do to hide them? Secrets can either be really innocent or can hurt the ones you love. When you are confronted with a loved ones secret, what do you do? Adam decides he will confront his wife about, and when they barely scrape the surface she disappears. We follow him as he tries to continue to live his life while worrying about her and trying to track down this stranger who started all this commotion.

I did not hate the book and it was entertaining enough for me to finish. I would give Coben another shot as I hear some of his other books are really well written.

Leave a Reply

